TotalVisitors 146062

IND-AUS ODI series from tomorrow, Australia ahead in statistics

IND-AUS ODI series from tomorrow, Australia ahead in statistics

IND-AUS ODI series from tomorrow, Australia ahead in statistics: 143 ODIs in 43 years, 80 Australia won; India has been competing for the last 13 years

The India-Australia ODI series begins on March 17. This series is also important for both the teams because this year is of World Cup and this tournament is to be held in India only. In such a situation, this series is an opportunity to test the preparations. The first match will be played tomorrow at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

There have been 143 ODI matches between the two teams so far. Australia has won 80 of these. India won in 53 and 10 matches did not result. However, there is also an interesting fact of ODI history between the two. In the first match, India defeated Australia at their home.

Australia has won 5 of the 12 ODI World Cups held so far. Most of the matches played by India in this tournament were won by Australia. At the beginning of this century the team was said to be almost invincible. Australia dominated us in ODIs in the first decade. But, in the second decade, India changed the story. Read further what, when, where, how happened in this rivalry….

India won the first ODI between the two, Gavaskar was the captain and Sandeep Patil was the hero of the match.

For the first time on 6 December 1980, India and Australia faced each other in ODI cricket. The Indian team, captained by Sunil Gavaskar, defeated the Kangaroos at their home ground, Melbourne. Sandeep Patil was responsible for India’s 66-run victory. Sandeep (64 runs and one wicket) gave a crushing defeat to the Kangaroos with a double performance. This victory was also special because it took 30 years for the Indian team to beat the Kangaroos for the first time in Tests on their soil.

Australia’s dominance for the first 30 years, India started competing for the last 13 years

The first ODI between India and Australia was played on 6 December 1980. After this, Australia dominated India for the first 30 years. Between 1980 and 2010, 104 ODIs were played between the two teams. Out of this, India could win only 35 matches. At the same time, Australia was victorious in 61 matches. That is, Australia won almost two-thirds of the matches.

Talking about the last 13 years, India gave a tough competition to Australia during this period. A total of 39 ODIs were played. India won 18 and Australia won 19 ODIs. 2 matches could not result.

India could win only 12 matches in the first 10 years

A total of 33 ODIs were played between these two teams in the ten years after the India-Australia first ODI in 1980. Of these, the Indian team could win only 12, ie less than half. Australia, on the other hand, had won 18 matches, more than half. 3 matches were no result. The same situation remained between 1990 and 2000. India won only 11 out of a total of 29 matches. This time our winning percentage was 34 percent.

It decreased even more in the first decade of the 21st century. Between 2000 and 2010, the maximum number of 42 matches were played between the two teams, but our winning percentage went down further. We won only 12 out of 42 matches. Then our winning percentage was 28 per cent.

In the last 10 years, the Indian team has given a tough fight to the Kangaroos. After 2010, so far 39 matches have been played between the two teams. Of these, India has won 18 and Australia has won 19. 2 matches remained no result. Our win percentage has gone up to 46% in the last decade.

We may have won the first match against the Kangaroos at home, but it has never been easy for us to beat the Australians at home. We have played Australia 54 matches at home but have won only 14.

equal competition at home

Talking about Indian soil, the contest between the two countries is equal. Both the teams have faced each other 64 times on Indian pitches. Of these, India has won 29 and Australia has won 30. The remaining 5 matches have been no result.

Now the Indian team is on mission ODI World Cup. Which is to be played on Indian soil only in October-November. Team India had also won the last World Cup on its own soil. Then the Indian team, captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, defeated Sri Lanka by 6 wickets. In such a situation, the Indian team under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma will have to keep their preparations strong, because the hopes of the Indian fans will be to see that history repeating itself.