TotalVisitors 183095

Australia scored 255 for four on the first day

Australia scored 255 for four on the first day

Australia scored 255 for four on the first day: Shatakvir Khawaja and Green returned unbeaten, Shami gave two shocks

In the fourth match of the ongoing Border-Gavaskar Trophy between India and Australia, the bat started showing its colors as soon as the mood of the pitch changed, while the effect of the ball faded.

On the first day, Australia scored 255 runs for four wickets in their first innings. After stumps on Thursday, opener Usman Khawaja (104*) scored his 14th Test century, while Cameron Green returned unbeaten on 49.

Peter Handscomb 17 runs, Steve Smith 38 runs, Marnus Labushen 3 and Travis Head were dismissed for 32 runs from the Kangaroo team after winning the toss and coming out to bat at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. For India, Mohammed Shami took two wickets, while Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin got one wicket each.

Three partnerships on top-middle order
The partnerships that have sprung up in the top-middle order have contributed significantly to Australia’s stupendous start. Apart from Khawaja, none of his other batsmen could score big, but Khawaja made three half-century partnerships. He has added 61 runs with opener Travis Head (32 runs), 79 runs with Steve Smith (38 runs), and 85 not out with Cameron Green (49 not out).

This is how Australia’s wickets fell in the first innings

First: Jadeja caught Travis Head on the third ball of the 16th over. Head wanted to hit this ball of Ashwin big.
Second: Marnus Labushen caught Jadeja on Ravichandran Ashwin’s ball.
Third: Ravindra Jadeja bowled Steve Smith.
Fourth: Shami bowled amazingly to Peter Handscomb.

Now know the condition of the first day in 3 points.

1. Openers gave Australia a strong start
Umesh Yadav and Mohd. on the green pitch of Ahmedabad Stadium. Both Shami were getting good swing but due to error in line and length, they could not take wickets in the beginning. Openers Khawaja and Head shared a 61-run partnership. Australia scored 56 runs without losing a wicket in the first 14 overs before lunch. In the subsequent 14 overs, the Indian bowlers created pressure. Dropped 2 wickets for only 19 runs.

Shami got swing in the beginning but no success. He came to bowl in the 23rd over and hit Marnus Labushen bowled on the very second ball. The ball took the edge of the bat and hit the stumps. Opener Travis Head got a lifeline in the sixth over. Wicketkeeper KS Bharat dropped his catch off Umesh Yadav. However, in the 16th over, Ashwin got him caught by Jadeja for 32 runs.

3. Khawaja’s century

Australian opener Usman Khawaja has played a century. He returned unbeaten on 104 at the end of the day’s play. Khawaja hit 15 fours in his 251-ball innings. He forged fruitful partnerships with Travis Dede, Steve Smith and Cameron Green.

According to Shan, see the condition of the first day

First: The session was mixed The opening session of the first day was mixed. In this, the host bowlers took two wickets, while the visiting batsmen scored 75 runs. By lunch the Australian team’s score was 75/2.
Second: Khawaja-Smith recovered from the aftershocks The second session was named after Usman Khawaja and Captain Steve Smith. In this, Khawaja completed the 22nd half-century of his career. He shared a half-century partnership with Smith. By tea time, Australia scored 149 runs for two wickets.
Third: Australian batsmen dominated the third session as well, although Indian bowlers also got two successes. Two wickets fell in this session and 106 runs were scored. Khawaja also completed his 14th century in this session.

Prime Minister gave test caps to the captains

Before the toss, PM Modi and Australian PM Anthony Albeniz also presented Test caps to their captains Rohit Sharma and Steve Smith. Sitting in golf carts, both the Prime Ministers also inspected the stadium.

This match of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy is also becoming a memorial of 75 years of friendship between India and Australia.

Shami returns in place of Siraj in India, playing eleven of both teams

India: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja, Shrikar Bharat (WK), Akshar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav.

Australia: Steve Smith (captain), Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Peter Handscomb, Alex Carey (wicketkeeper), Cameron Green, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy and Matthew Kuhnemann.

This is your last chance to reach the WTC finals

The last match of the Test series is very important for both teams. India is currently leading 2-1 in the series. On winning the fourth Test, the team will win the series and also enter the final of the World Test Championship.

If Australia wins the last Test, the series will be level at 2-2. In such a situation, the trophy will remain with India, because India won the last Test series in 2020-21. But, Australia will be able to draw the Border-Gavaskar Trophy for the first time in 20 years.