TotalVisitors 183117

Gujarat’s first win over Mumbai, defeated by 55 runs

Gujarat’s first win over Mumbai, defeated by 55 runs

Gujarat’s first win over Mumbai, defeated by 55 runs: Noor Ahmed and Rashid Khan together took 5 wickets, Gill scored a half-century

Defending champions Gujarat Titans registered their first win over 5-time champions Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League. The team captained by Hardik Pandya defeated Mumbai captained by Rohit Sharma by 55 runs.

This is the fourth win of 50+ runs in the current season. For the ninth time in the history of the league, Mumbai has failed to chase a score of 200+.

This is Gujarat’s 5th win of the current season, while Mumbai have lost their fourth match. With this victory, the Gujarat team has come to number two in the points table. Mumbai is number 7

points table

Mumbai captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and decided to bowl at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. Batting first, Gujarat scored 207 runs for 6 wickets in 20 overs. In response, Mumbai Indians batsmen could only manage 152 runs for 9 wickets in 20 overs. Abhinav Manohar of Gujarat was the player in the match. He scored 42 runs on 21 balls.

turning point of the match

Noor-Rashid’s bowling Noor Ahmed and Rashid Khan together returned the pavilion to Mumbai’s middle order. Both the Afghan bowlers together took 5 wickets. Noor took the wickets of Cameron Green and Tim David on the second and fourth balls of the 11th over respectively. Then in the 13th over, he returned Suryakumar to the pavilion. Earlier, Rashid dismissed openers Ishan Kishan and Tilak Verma to deny Mumbai a chance to recover from the early jitters.
Miller-Manohar partnership Miller, who came at number 5, and Abhinav Manohar, who came at number-6, shared a 71-run partnership in 35 balls. This partnership took Gujarat’s score past 200. Earlier, Gujarat had lost 4 wickets for 101 runs.
Shubman Gill’s half-century Shubman Gill gave the team a great start even after the first setback. Gill scored 56 off 34 balls. After losing the wicket of Saha for 12 runs, Gujarat was not allowed to come under pressure. He added 38 runs with captain Hardik Pandya and 41 runs with Vijay Shankar.

Mumbai’s start was slow, lost wickets continuously

Chasing the target of 208 runs, Mumbai got off to a slow start. The team had added only 29 runs in the first 6 overs. This was the second low-scoring powerplay of this season. Not only this, the team lost wickets continuously. The biggest partnership on the lower middle order was 45 runs.

Earlier, Gujarat opener Shubman Gill (56 runs) scored his third half-century of the season. Apart from Gill, David Millan scored 46 and Abhinav Manohar scored 42 runs. Rahul Tewatia contributed 20 runs on 5 balls.

Piyush Chawla got two wickets for Mumbai. Arjun Tendulkar, Jason Behrendorff, Riley Meredith and Kumar Kartikeya got one wicket each.

Nehal scored the maximum 40 runs from Mumbai in the counter-innings. Cameron Green added 33 and Suryakumar added 23 runs. Noor Ahmed took three wickets. Rashid Khan and Mohit Sharma got two successes each.

First: Rohit Sharma was caught and bowled by Hardik Pandya on the last ball of the second over.

Second: On the third ball of the 8th over, Rashid Khan got Ishaan Kishan caught by Joshua Little.
Third: On the last ball of the 8th over, Rashid Khan made Tilak Verma LBW.
Fourth: Noor Ahmed bowled Cameron Green on the second ball of the 11th over.
Fifth: On the fourth ball of the 11th over, Noor Ahmed got Tim David caught by Abhinav Manohar.
Sixth: Suryakumar was caught and bowled by Noor Ahmed on the last ball of the 13th over.
Seventh: Piyush Chawla was runout on the first ball of the 18th over.
Eighth: On the last ball of the 18th over, Mohit Sharma got Nehal caught by Shami.
Ninth: On the fourth ball of the 20th over, Mohit Sharma got Arjun Tendulkar caught by Joshua Little.

Gujarat’s wickets fell like this…

First: Arjun Tendulkar got Saha caught by wicketkeeper Ishan Kishan on the first ball of the third over.
Second: On the first ball of the 7th over, Piyush Chawla got Hardik Pandya caught by Suryakumar Yadav.
Third: On the first ball of the 12th over, Kumar Kartikeya caught Gill at long on by Suryakumar.
Fourth: On the second ball of the 13th over, Piyush Chawla got Vijay Shankar caught by Tim David.
Fifth: On the first ball of the 19th over, Riley Meredith got Abhinav Manohar caught by Jason Behrendorff.
Sixth: In the last over, Jason Behrendorff got David Miller caught by Suryakumar Yadav.