TotalVisitors 182991

Nepal qualified for Asia Cup for the first time

Nepal qualified for Asia Cup for the first time

Nepal qualified for Asia Cup for the first time: entry after defeating UAE, India-Pakistan will clash

Creating history, the Nepal cricket team has qualified for the Asia Cup 2023 for the first time. Nepal defeated the United Arab Emirates (UAE) by seven wickets in the final of the ACC Men’s Premier Cup at the Tribhuvan University International Cricket Ground in Kathmandu on Tuesday. In this match, Gulshan Jha scored an unbeaten 67 runs in 84 balls. Gulshan was adjudged player of the match for his brilliant performance.

Five teams have already qualified for Asia Cup 2023. Now Nepal has become the sixth team to play in this tournament. The five teams include India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan. This time the Asia Cup is to be held in the first week of September. There will be a total of 13 matches including the final in the 6-team tournament lasting 13 days. India and Pakistan are in the same group.

The first Asia Cup was organized in the year 1984. India is the most successful team in the 39-year history of the Asia Cup. The Asia Cup is currently hosted by Pakistan. However, it has not been decided yet where the Asia Cup matches will be played.

Nepal beat UAE by seven wickets

In Tuesday’s match, the UAE team could score only 117 runs in 33.1 overs, whereas while batting, Nepal’s team scored 118 runs in 30.3 overs losing three wickets and getting UAE out of the tournament. The last time the UAE team also qualified in this tournament, they were the sixth team to reach this cup.

Sri Lanka is the defending champion

Last year, the Asia Cup in the 20-over format was played in the UAE in August. Its hosting was handed over to Sri Lanka. But, due to economic and political difficulties in Sri Lanka, it was shifted to UAE. Host team Sri Lanka won the tournament by defeating Pakistan in the final. Team India reached the Super-4 by winning both matches of the group stage. But, could not qualify for the final after losing to Pakistan and Sri Lanka in Super-4.